First Full Week

Standard

So I successfully completed my first full week of teacher assisting, and what a week it proved to be. The students made me laugh and smile, they made my heart ache, they tested their boundaries, but most of all they made me realize I’m exactly where I’m supposed to be. I love spending time in that classroom with those kids. Just watching them and all the crazy things only sixth graders have the courage to do makes me smile and laugh so hard my cheeks hurt. They’re at that oh so glorious age–not quite kindergarteners, not quite mature citizens of society–where the filter between their thoughts and their mouth doesn’t quite seem to work. And most of the time, it’s hilarious. What comes out of their mouth is the honest to goodness truth, which is (most of the time) quite refreshing to hear! However, I’m learning to talk with them about the “not so nice” honest to goodness truths that sneak out every once in a while. They’re learning, though, and trying to figure out who they are–something we’ve all been through and understand quite well.

Okay, back to the stuff that’s made me smile. 🙂 I’ve noticed that no matter what grade level or age, students love to know their teachers’ or other grown ups’ ages. I don’t quite know what the big deal is, but it’s one of the first questions that pop out of their unfiltered mouths. So, the other day a few students asked how old I was. I really wanted to know what they thought, since most people think I’m still in high school. Their first guess? 19. Not as bad as it could have been I guess, but after I said no, the next guess was 16!! 16?! Then 17, 18 and then 27 (that one came out of no where!). This just proves my “no filter” theory. It’s like they don’t take a second to think before they speak–they know I’m in college, and yet 16 years of age was their second guess…oh, these kids. 🙂

It’s these little tidbits that pop up throughout the day, which keep me on my toes and excited to be there with them. I think it’s so important to connect with my students before I try to teach them. How do I know how to engage them if I don’t even know them? I can’t wait to see what the next few weeks have in store for me!

Leave a Reply

